A Letter To The Things in Which I Am Learning to Love

To my stomach, an anomaly of soft curves made from proudly eaten cupcakes and pizza,

To my feet, calloused with midnight adventures and every tree that I have ever climbed while trying to prove to my brothers that girls are strong too,

To my hair made of tangled forests and wild vines- the dominant trait from the blood of my ancestors comprised of beasts and lion-hearted girls- I hold my head high to balance this crown.

My hands can’t fix everything no matter how badly my soul wishes they would, my eyes are wide and naïve searching for a god- a beauty that scratches deeper and realer than any manicured hand ever could- and my skin is rough and weathered and tethered but it is made of earth and young civilizations so I will not apologize.

To my body, I will apologize for betraying you because American Apparel only makes size extra small and I thought that was better, I will apologize for making you believe that freedom comes only in the form of beauty that is silken and bears a straight nose, I will apologize for starving you and abusing you and shredding you into galaxies on nights it felt too dark and too lonely to be alive, however,

I will no longer apologize for

Owning you.

To my body, my body that no longer offers ribs in the sunlight but, instead, offers strength in all lights, you are not just my body;

You are potential.

Let’s grow old together,

My friend.

Selfies in a leather bodysuit after pizza. Yolo?

 

14 thoughts on “A Letter To The Things in Which I Am Learning to Love

  1. Beautiful. You are beautiful. I’m inspired by your ability to grow and love your body. I hope that one day I can do the same. Thanks for sharing. Much love ❤

    • Oh, my love, you’ll get there one day! It takes time and patience. Trust me, I have to relearn to love myself everyday 🙂 You’ll get there ❤

  2. To all of Lexi,
    you are beautiful, but what makes you breathtaking is your strength and your courage. I’m so proud of you. I am so. Proud of you.

    • Haha! I was a little hesitant to get it at first because I have no clue where I’ll wear it to but it was such a steal so I just had to get it 🙂

Leave a Reply

